Run, bike, garden

Some weekends I feel like I don’t get much done. Not this weekend. My achy butt muscles are proof that I got some serious work done this weekend.

Saturday I went for my long run of 6 miles in the pouring rain. It rained the entire time. I was so wet by the end that you could wring my clothes out and get a stream of water. As my luck would have it, I decided to go for a 3/4 mile cool down walk as I was already wet. The rain stopped 1/4 mile in to it. I love a rainy run, but this was just unfair that the rain stopped for the walk. (Sorry no pictures of the waterfall that occurred when I wrung out my shirt. I dried off at the door and my family was still in pj’s.)

I decided to try a new recipe and modified it slightly for black bean brownies. The verdict – edible and much better cold. I like my cakes cold (and maybe brownies too after this test), so that could just be my bias opinion. My oldest son said they had an aftertaste that he did not care for.

I’ll be modifying the recipe again and seeing if I can find a way to get rid of the aftertaste. If I perfect it so you can’t taste a bean-y aftertaste I’ll post the recipe. I’m trying to make them flour-less and healthy.

Shh, if you see weeds, don’t tell. And look at the lovely tan line from my KTtape.

On Sunday I attacked the front flowerbed for my twice a year weedfest and the bushes along the fence. I hate weeding, so it won’t happen again until this fall when I get it ready for the winter. My neighbor does not feel the need to trim his bushes and has told us “we” can. I spent 3.5 hours pulling, chopping, digging, and mulching. This is why my butt muscles are so sore today! My kids helped out for 30 minutes and then voted on purple flowers for the flower pots – that’s it, they did not even help plant the flowers or go buy them. Too busy playing on the slip’n slide. (Note to husband, next time give them a time limit – our backyard looks like we have a mud path!)

I also took my oldest son on a 3.3 mile bike ride. Neither of our bikes have a water bottle holder, so I wore my Nathan fuel belt (that I use for running) to hold water and the cell phone just in case I needed to call my husband to pick us up. The fuel belt worked wonderful! We had a great time and I think it’s the furthest he’s ever went.

This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Run, bike, garden

  1. tootallfritz says:

    I have a KT tape tan line too! LOL! Mine is on the front of my leg though. 🙂

Leave a Reply

